In the US, driving under the influence results in the highest number of death and injury accidents in comparison to all other crimes.
The OUI laws states…
Operating While Under the Influence is a criminal offense where the person operating the motor vehicle is under the influence of intoxicants such as alcohol or drug. In states of the US other than Maine, this law is called as DUI or Driving Under the Influence. For an individual to be charged with OUI crime, the chemical blood, urine or breath test to check the blood alcohol concentration (known as BAC) level should be 0.08% or more. A positive BAC test is a sufficient evidence to prove the felony. If proven guilty, officials arrested the driver following the suspension of driver’s license by the State Secretary. OUI lawyers of Maine can intervene on behalf of the charged person to ensure minimum punishment sentence.
Zero Tolerance Law for underage
If the driver under the influence of alcohol is under 21 years old, Maine exercises comparatively more stringent laws. The law states that in an attempt to drive or found driving the motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants of significantly measurable amounts will and must result in license suspension for 12 months. An additional license suspension of 180 days results if the passenger [under 21 years] accompanies the driver who is under the influence of alcohol. A proven OUI conviction will taint your image for a lifetime as it is a crime.
When does forfeiture occur?
If the driver is drunk or influenced by drugs while facing suspension for OUI, officials will seize the vehicle. The criminal will then face prison and pay fine.
What is Implied Consent?
Issuing a driver’s license is a privilege extended to Maine citizens by the administration and the State holds the right to withdraw it at any time. Under Implied Consent, the person under suspicion will automatically agree to the chemical test. It is mandatory when an officer on the basis of reasonable grounds wants to conduct the test. Refusal in administering the test will result in immediate license suspension for up to 6 years. The administrative suspension will not require the court intervention.
According to OUI Lawyers, if the officer on the scene of the incident gives his testimony about the operating performance, BAC will be unnecessary. In case of refusal after the testimony, Judge will consider it an aggravating factor in the offense, resulting in a harsher sentence with mandatory prison time. Did you know that for an OUI conviction, the driver may have to pay as much as $7000?
There is more to OUI.
Reinstated licenses after first OUI conviction require the person to not drive when drugged or under the influence. It holds conditional for 12 months without any hearing and can even extend to 2 years on the BAC test refusal. But, if the OUI conviction stands true for the second time, the license is conditional for up to 10 years.